Harper Lee Is Publishing a new Book?!?!

382

Today Herper Lee announced that she was releasing a sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird called Go Set a Watchman, 55 years after she first released the modern classic. I am so ambivalent about this! I’m of course going to read it but To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my all time favorites and I’m not sure this new book will live up to the same standard. Harper Lee was quoted as saying “I have said what I wanted to say and I will not say it again,” when she was asked about writing another book after TKAM’s success, so I really hope she has a very good reason for going back on that. I really hope this book is as fantastic as TKAM and my biggest fear is that is will taint it depending on what happens now that Scout is an adult.  This book was technically written first but the manuscript was lost until now. The excepted date of release this summer (July? I think I read that somewhere.)

Leave a Reply

