Tattoos, Piercings, Uni, Work, and Boyfriends

Hey lovelies! So I am going to take this opportunity of catching you all up on my terribly boring life 🙂 (I REALLY don’t want to do social or calc right now…)

I’m going to start with work because I need some advice right now. My friends tell me to do one thing an it seems like an over reaction to me seriously, advice from someone who ha worked for some time would be greatly appreciated. So there is this new waiter at the restaurant, lets call him Al, he’s 35-40ish years old. About a month ago when he first started, his reaction to finding out I was underage was “dammit” then walking away. Kinda creepy but weirder things have happened. Last Wednesday my boss asked me to come in because we were catering a fundraiser/party thing. Almost no one working. So I’m in the kitchen alone making salad or something, Al comes in and says “I like nice hugs” I was pretty sure I heard him wrong or he was talking to someone else and I just didn’t have context so I say, “Sorry, are you talking to me? What was that?” Without breaking eye contact he says very slowly, “I like. Nice. Hugs.” I’m rattled but my boss comes in and he leaves so no big deal. Later he comes back and says very seriously, “Tell me everything and leave nothing out.” I go, “wait, tell you what?!” to which he responds “Anything you think I’d like to know.” he leaves again. And just whenever he entered the kitchen he sings my name (eg: “Lizzie, oh Lizzie”) but when he addressed me he said “my love.” Not sure if I have told you guys about this but I am weird about possessive adjectives. I don’t like them used in reference to me. So that happened then I went back yesterday for a shift and he patted the side of my butt. To clarify I don’t mean he slapped my ass, he wanted my to move, I would have preferred an “excuse me” but still.  Overall he just makes me really uncomfortable. Now my friends are all telling me I need to report it because it’s sexual harassment but it’s not that serious, right? I don’t want to make a big deal out of nothing. :/ Besides, how would I even go about bringing that up? I told Seth (my Boyfriend, it’s official now, YAY! More about him later) about Wednesday but not about yesterday because I don’t want him to worry. Even with Wednesday he was talking about how he’s worried about me and doesn’t want me hurt etc. etc. I appreciate the concern but I don’t think it’s necessary. I don’t know. What do you guys think?

 

Lets see…. school is going fine, except I need to raise my English mark, Social I am shockingly doing really well in seeing as how I really don’t give a shit, Calc I am trying and just that going well for me. My mark is back to an 80 but I have a test next Tuesday that is just going to bring me back down. I did like a page of questions yesterday and was feeling really confident, check my answers and I didn’t get a single one right. Drama is really great, grade 12 is the year of directing and my teacher came up to me the other day and told me she really loved my directing and that I should considering taking it in uni because I had a natural talent for it. That really made my day because she isn’t one to give compliments like that unless she means it! I am so stressed and university! I don’t think I’m going to get into anything an my mom isn’t letting me apply to anything our of province. Seth  has about a dozen scholarships to all over, Canada, USA and I think one in Europe somewhere for soccer and I’m so proud of him but oh my god I wish I had talent! I am so stressed about uni (I know this looks ironic seeing as I am procrastinating hardcore right now, but neither social or calc affect my application average.) How do I life?

What I am excited for in the future is getting my tattoo when I’m 18! I’m getting 5 mockingbirds around my left ankle (it has meaning, don’t worry.)  I am also getting my belly button pierced when I’m 18 and hopefully next weekend I’m getting my helix ring done! I also want a quote tattoo either on my collarbone on my ribs, I’m leaning towards a literary tattoo but I don’t know what. I like some classic JRR Tolkien from  his “All that is Gold does not glitter” poem: “Not all those who wonder are lost” or “The old that is strong does not wither.” I also like Oscar Wilde’s “Behind every exquisite thing that existed, there was something tragic.” or  “To define is to limit.” or F. Scott Fitzgerald “So we beat on, boats against the current”  or maybe some Cassandra Clare “I am, after all, what you made me.” I need to start a list of book quotes. There are so many good ones. I want to be really sure before I get it done because it is permanent. Seth is getting a full sleeve of a Celtic tattoo that runs in his family, I am so beyond glad he didn’t have that when he met my parents. He has studs in his ears and even just that earned him a few questionable glances. He’s a total gentleman though so hopefully my family won’t be too bad. My older brother was a jerk to him but that was probably just because he’s my older brother. I love him though. I know  shouldn’t say that yet but I do. He makes me really happy.

So that’s life right now. Bye beauties! Kisses!

7 Comments

  1. You should absolutely talk to your boss about the guy at work. It doesn’t have to be a big deal. Just let him know the guy makes you uncomfortable and what he’s done. I had a friend in a similar situation recently and she talked to her boss and the boss talked to the guy and he never bothered her again. No one has to work in that kind of environment.

  2. I think that you should draw some boundaries with Al. I prefer the direct approach. Going to your boss is a great idea, but how is the guy going to know what he’s doing wrong if you don’t tell him? The next time he touches you say something like “Dude, I’m not a really touchy-feely person so please don’t do that any more”. Tell him that it makes you uncomfortable and do it while you’re making eye-contact. You can let him know that it makes you uncomfortable in a way that’s not bitchy.

    I think that it’s important to establish these boundaries yourself as you will run into these kind of people your entire life and won’t always have someone to help you out of the situation. It’s uncomfortable at first, but I’ve found that the direct approach is the best.

    If he persists, then you should go to your boss. Or punch him in the throat.

Leave a Reply

