Book Rant: A Curse Dark as Gold

1743390BOOK RATING: 75%

GENRE: YA, fairytale retelling

SERIES: Standalone

Hello my lovelies! It has been awhile since I did a Book Rant! No matter, today we are discussing A Curse  Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce. This is a spin-off of Rumpelstiltskin but Mrs. Bunce actually took it pretty far away from the classic story.  Charlotte Miller is the eldest daughter of a dead father. But life goes one and Charlotte and her younger sister, Rosie, keep the family mill running on their own.  She even finds herself falling for an unlikely suitor. But of course it isn’t that easy. Despite having always scoffed at the rumors of a curse on the old woolen mill, even Charlotte is having her doubts as the bad luck pills up: departing and injured workers, a staggering, unexplained debt left by their father, and an overbearing uncle. Then a stranger named Jack Spinner offers a tempting proposition: He can turn straw into gold thread, for the small price of her dead mother’s ring. But their curse won’t let up and Charlotte finds her self falling deeper into Jack Spinners bargains. She must find a way to break the curse, before she gambles more than she can afford. This was a decent book, the writing and description were fantastic.  Spoilers past here!

.

.

.

.

.

I have the feeling that  have read this book before. I don’t recall dong so but as I was reading it seemed very familiar. Or I’m just insane. Either or. The setting is really interesting, opposed to the typical medieval fairytale it’s based just before the Industrial Revolution. I loved it so much. There was so much detail everything seemed so real as you were reading it. Right down the the process of making the cloth and spinning the wool. This book didn’t really fallow the typical story at all, but I really liked what she did with it. The first half of this book was almost like a back story to the fairytale and then when we eventually got Jack Spinner in we had enough details that it made sense opposed to the original when he just kind of appears by chance almost.

The romance between Randall and Charlotte was just too cute! Charlotte’s character was so very untypical of a fairytale girl, she was tough and stubborn so that was really interesting to see their relationship play out. Again, it was so realistic! The fair when they were dancing just made my heart smile so much and Rosie’s reaction was the best! I didn;t like how Randall was magic though. I now it’s a fantasy world and we had just used magic to send Jack Spinner away so it wasn’t far fetched, but it seemed rushed and unnecessary to me. It didn’t need to happen for anything to make sense she just seemed to put it in there. Those two really need to work on communication!

The reason this book only got a 75 was that I didn’t get really into it. That probably wasn’t entirely the books fault because I have been really, really busy, but despite the wonderful, painting worthy descriptions I just couldn’t get lost into the story. The characters were really real and well developed but I just didn’t connect with them that much.

That is it. I don’t have much to say about this book because, as I said, it was really well written and I liked it but I didn’t connect all that well with it. Bye Guys! Kisses!

Leave a Reply

