Book Rant: Dracula

9781435129733_p0_v2_s260x420

BOOK RATING: 90%

GENRE: Classic, Gothic Fiction, Horror

Hello lovelies! Well, I was supposed to be reading Invisibility this week but I got about 10 pages in a then got distracted by my shinny new copy of Dracula so. Yeah. Oops. Dracula was written in 1897 by Bram Stoker. If you don’t know, Count Dracula is a Vampire. A very old, experienced one at that. A group of friends gets tangled up with him and can decide that they must destroy him to save themselves, other Innocent people and his soul. We open with Jonathan Harker who is a solicitor who was sent to do business with the wealthy nobleman, Dracula, who wants to buy a home in London. Johnathan keeps a journal while in Transylvanian  so that he can tell his beloved back home all about his trip in great detail. When locals discover his destination they try to warn him off, but needless to say, he ignores them and goes to Dracula’s castle anyway.  Although he is greeted warmly by his host, Johnathan soon beings to see that castle as the prison it is and fears for his life (and sanity) when he begins to note his host’s strange ways. This book is told mainly through a bunch of journal entries and letters written by the various characters. This was my first time reading Dracula, though I have seen at least one movie version. So if you are like me let me make this clear right from the get go: unlike every single movie adaptation is existence, Mina and Dracula DON’T fall in love or anything close to it. I’m not sure where that came from, or who thought it up, but it doesn’t happen. So read the book and don’t think of it as the same as the movie(s) because that was my mistake. Spoilers past this point.

.

.

.

.

.

This might just be me, but I find books that are told through diary entries much harder to really get into. I don’t know why but they don’t hold my attention as well and I can’t visualize things the same way. As a result this book took me a bit to read. I think I liked it best when it was Seward’s entries. I found them the most interesting and I also liked to read about Renfield. He was a very interesting case to hear about. Johnathan I liked to read too because his entries seemed to have the most description. Mina I found terribly annoying most of the time. Yes, she did have her moments where she was really smart and everything but a lot of times she talked about how she was weak because she was a woman and “Oh thank God for strong men to take care of us women.”  I know it’s only because it was written in the Victorian Era but it was seriously annoying to hear over and over.

One thing we can all be sure of, when the villagers say someplace is cursed or haunted or some such noise, just listen to them. As many stories have taught us, they usually have a reason for it! I don’t know why characters keep messing this up. The entire town will be “ooh stay away from there!” and they always are like “hey, do you know what would be a great idea? If I went to that place all the locals keep saying I should avoid! What do they know, they’ve only lived here their whole lives!” Sure maybe it’s not some mystical, magical, evil demon but you can be pretty sure that it’s something because if there wasn’t something, they wouldn’t be telling you this. There might be a reasonable explanation, but why does every character make it their duty to find it? “I just got here,  but I will prove these people I don’t know wrong by going to that aforementioned place and getting to the bottom of things!” Why?! 90% of the time they are on vacation so relax, do some sightseeing in non-supposedly -haunted places, enjoy some local culture, eat some delicious food that’s not healthy for you, stay out to late and sleep until noon, normal vacation stuff. You don’t have to go to the one place that you have been warned to stay away from. Let’s say you did get to the bottom of things and it was just a pack of hungry wolves or a group of bandits, yay good for you for figuring that out! Now what? You are being hunted by wolves or captured by bandits, but you proved those villagers wrong! It wasn’t a ghost. Johnathan had a bit of an excuse because he was there for work, not just someone happening by on vacation but moral of the story, don’t go to the place where locals cross themselves when they talk about it.

I mentioned this above, why did this get turned into a love story? It’s obvious that somewhere along the line someone decided to have Dracula love Mina or vice versa and everyone blindly followed that but how? How did they get love from this? The only reason I can think of was if when they made the movie they wanted to appeal to a broader audience and make Dracula less scary by making him have this very human emotion. But it’s not in anyway a part of the book which I wasn’t aware of so was expecting it but didn’t happen. I can’t say I’m disappointed, having the love story in this book really wouldn’t have made any sense given how cruel and inhuman Dracula is. What was also really interesting about this book was to see how our version of “vampire” has changed over the years from Dracula being the “original” vampire.

In summary: loved the book though I found it hard to get into because of the writing style, Mina is a frustrating character, it’s very different from the movie, avoid areas locals refer to as haunted. I will actually read Invisibility now, promise. ‘Kay, bye guys! Kisses!

Leave a Reply

