I’m 21!

Hello darlings! I went to work the other day and we had a “guest chef” kind of thing. He worked in a restaurant that was destroyed in the flood so he’s working a week here, a week there until he can find a steady job. Which is really too bad, that must be brutal and I really hope he finds another job soon. Anyway so he assumed I was 21 and that lead to a conversation about me sneaking into bars which I pointed out doesn’t work in a small town. Also I’m a good child 😉 This happens A LOT to me. People have been thinking I am a university student since I was in the 7th grade. That means when I was 12, I looked 18! Mostly I think this has to do with the fact that I’m tall. I’m 5’10” currently and I might have been half an inch shorter in grade 7, but I haven’t grown much since. I turn 17 next week, by the way, just so there is no confusion. I don’t want to say it’s annoying or insulting because it’s not. If people thought I was 13 that would be annoying. I just don’t know how to take it and it gets a little tiring to explain.

What bugs me is sometimes when people find out I’m not in university or not an adult they suddenly treat me differently. “Ok we’re been talking for 10 minutes and the fact that you just now figured out my age doesn’t change that! I have been the same age for the entire time, so don’t treat me like a kid!” I was at Starbucks and I was meeting up with one of my friends there and she was late so I started talking to this guy (he was really nice at first, he bought me a coffee) And we started talking about science somehow. I’m pretty sure it was biology it might have been physics. After some time he asks me what I’m majoring in and I tell him that I’m in grade 11 and he suddenly turns so patronizing! Seriously? Not two minutes ago we were talking about science and I don’t know maybe I sounded like a total idiot but then why weren’t you being all high-and-mighty then?!

But it got me thinking, when I’m 20 will I look 30? I really hope not! That would be dreadful! If you’re 30 that’s not a bad thing but who want’s to look 30 at 20? That is my little blurb. Does stuff like this happen to other people? It must.

8 Comments

  1. I actually experienced this same problem. When I was younger, people always thought I was way older (I was/am tall too, so that must be it?). However, nowadays, I’m experiencing the opposite problem. People assume I’m way younger than I really am. In fact, I just turned 30 this week and someone mistook me for a 20-year old. Ha! So, hopefully, the same thing happens to you. Just remember: face lotion, exercise and plenty of water! They are the Fountain of Youth!

  2. I have the exact opposite problem. I’m 19 but everyone assumes that I’m 14-16 years old because I’m only 5’2″ and I guess that’s pretty short for my age. I get ID’d for everything, including 14A movies. I’m not sure who was more embarrassed: the lady at the theater who asked for my ID or myself, haha.

  3. Like theinbetweenplace I look much younger than my age. I am 19, turning 20 later this year, but I only look 14 or so. I am short (about 5’2″ish) and have braces (yes I made the stupid decision to have them put on at 17 instead of 9 when I should have had them!) The only good thing is is that as I’m at Uni people don’t question my age, so I don’t get ID’d much anymore. Roll on having my braces off, maybe I’ll look 15! 😉

    • Braces were the bane of my existence for two years so I feel ya! I didn’t care so much how they looked but they hurt and you can’t eat all the good tasting food. If you aren’t getting IDed anymore you must be doing something right! I wish I was short, it sound like so much more fun! You can wear heels 😀

Leave a Reply

