30 Day Book Challenge: Day 16

picsart_1375358545585

Hello all! We are doing more of the 30 Day book challenge today! I picked this up from Chronicles of Radiya

Today we answer: What is your favourite genre?

200px-LibbabraybeautyHistorical-fantasy. Libba Bray’s A Great and Terrible Beauty got me into this genre. I actually really enjoy historical fiction, I know it’s not for everyone but I rather like it, I find it very interesting. And obviously I love fantasy. I think I like fantasy so much because it’s not like anything in our world so it that much easier to get lost in. So put the two together and I’m in love.

Historical-fantasy is based in history so it feel more real because if fantasy is based in modern day I find it even more obvious that it’s not real. When you’re reading you want to turn off that annoying voice that is reminding you of reality and I find it harder to shut up when I’m reading a modern based fantasy. When the book is high fantasy again their is that annoying voice but I have always found that with historical-fantasy there is enough fact base that it feel more realistic and it’s far enough in the past that you can kind of delude yourself into think “ok, this obviously isn’t real now, but who knows? It could have been 1 or 2 or 3 hundred years ago.”

Some of my favourite historical-fantasy books are

  • A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
  • Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • Bewitching Season by Marissa Doyle

That is it for now. Bye guys!

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

