30 Day Book Challenge: Day 15

picsart_1375358545585

Hello! Today we continue with more of the 30 Day Book Challenge! We’re half way guys! This challenge was made by The Chronicles of Radiya 

Today we discuss: What are your five favourite characters of all time?

Ok this is a really hard one.  This might take awhile.

…Several hours later…

If you think I’m joking, I’m not. This actually took forever. I started this list about midnight last night, slept, got up and reviewed the list, thought about it all while working and one my run and then revised it more. This is like an impossible challenge. There are too many favourites. I have come up with this list of five but there are many, many, many others.  (List not in order).

  • Jeremy Irvine would make an amazing Will. Go watch him in Warhorse, he's a great actor.

    Jeremy Irvine would make an amazing Will. Go watch him in Warhorse, he’s a great actor.

    William Herondale – I had to include Will form Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices Series. Firstly, he’s tall, dark and handsome and a bit of a bad boy. He’s also a really witty, sarcastic, funny character and I love when books make me laugh. When a character can make you laugh they feel so much more realistic. Will is also a very tragic character and as I was making this list I realized I like tragic characters. Probably because then I get so emotionally invested in their stories just hoping it will work out for them in the end.

  • Sirius Black– Probably not the most obvious choice from Harry Potter, but I have always loved Sirius and then I loved him in the movies too. I was really worried that they were going to mess up his character but I think they did it perfectly. He’s so endlessly loyal and he is exactly the kind of person I would want to have my back.
  • Scout Finch – Scout from To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Scout and I had a very similar childhood so I really connected with her. She had Dill and Jem, I had my two brothers and when I was growing up kids still played outside and made up imaginary games instead of just playing video games. I also learned to read at a really young age. I come from a family of readers so I was always being read to and by the time I moved across the country and started grade one I was reading Ronald Dahl and The Magic Tree House by myself and my grade 1 teacher didn’t like it. I don’t know if anyone else had this but there was this thing in grade 1-3 where every week you would get a book and you would have to take it home and read it to your parents and there were different levels (6 I think?) and obviously to get to the next level you had to past the previous one. In the first few weeks of school the teachers went through all the students to figure out what level they were at and my teacher got really mad at me for being able to read the highest level easily. I got told the same thing Scout did in that I had learned to read wrong and that I need to start learning again correctly. Little 6 year old me was really upset because I thought I had done something wrong but I didn’t understand what and I was being forced to read these 10 page book with five words per page that I hated. But I did it anyway because I thought if I read enough of them I would be able to read what I wanted.  But the same thing happened each year until this level reading was over and then I got to go to the school library and pick out my own books and because the librarian was my neighbor she let me pick out novels that I technically wasn’t supposed to be allowed to take out. So I got Scout and I really connected with her character.
  • Dustfinger – How could you not like Dustfinger? He’s from Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart trilogy and although he kind of seems to switch sides in the first one, he’s another of those tragic characters that you have to love. He just wants to get home. He also has this mix of being fatherly and a child at the same time. His death was one of the hardest to deal with, I couldn’t stop crying.
  • tweedledee-tweedledum-3Tweedles (You CANNOT separate these two so it counts as one) – Tweedledee and Tweedledum from Lewis Caroll’s Through the Looking Glass I’m not even sure how to begin justifying this one. They are the sweetest, funniest, most entertaining, crazy characters ever.
12 Comments

  1. Sirius Black was one of my favorite Harry Potter characters, too! Rereading Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban made me like his character even more, because I picked up on all the things he tried to do to help even at the risk of exposing himself. His death was one of the most devastating in the series for me.

  2. Pingback: Reflecting on the 30 Day Book Challenge | Read. Run. Study.

Leave a Reply

