Book Rant: The Night Circus

TheNightCircusBOOK RATING: 95%

Hello everyone. I just finished The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and I am at a loss at how to explain it to you guys. It’s like a dream. The goodreads description is as follows:

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night. 

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands. 

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus performers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead. 

Written in rich, seductive prose, this spell-casting novel is a feast for the senses and the heart

 I also saw a book trailer I will post the link HERE if you want to watch that. This novel isn’t written chronologically and I know that bugs some people. At the top of each chapter it states a year but I found that they weren’t always necessary because it’s written with different characters taking the limelight in different chapters you can get the feel of what time it is by who the writing is about. This is another one of those novels where you don’t know how everyone ties together until it comes full circle and it’s done so well. I had super high expectations for this book and in my mind it was pretty much perfect. A mix of a magical fairy-tale, a carefree daydream, and a beautiful nightmare. Spoilers beyond this point.

.

.

.

.

.

I am still just in awe of this book, the world is fantastic. Everything is so detailed it’s like it’s being built around you. It is a slower read I found. It’s 387 pages (granted it is in a small font) but it took me much longer then normal to read it and I think that’s because you have to go slower to absorb all this detail and the characters.

Let’s start with Marco. He doesn’t change a whole lot through out the book. But I like him. I think he’s got a really good head on his shoulders and he’s very rational. He’s really ground opposed to Celia’s wildcard. You never know how she’s going to react or what she’s going to do.  He’s not a too perfect guy character that happens a lot in novels. He has his flaws but it makes him realistic. I found it interesting that he had this “fake face” that he wore around people because it showed that he had these doubts and insecurities and unlike Celia who seems perfectly comfortable with who she is, she flaunts it, Marco is much more secretive and protective abut his identity. What he did with Isobel and showing her what he could do was a radical behaviour for him.

Celia. I adore her. She puts a lot on herself in this book. She’s carrying way more on her shoulders than Marco and she was never taught to have a power source like Marco’s fire. I know it’s an endurance thing but she’s holding way more. If you were in this competition and you did nothing, or next to nothing, you would last way longer. And as far as I can tell the competition had  no points it was just last person standing. So unless they turned to flat out violence they technically didn’t have to do anything. Of course neither of them knew it was an endurance test until it was too late. Celia evolved more than Marco did. She really wasn’t trusting of people at the beginning and no wonder! If I had her father I would be either. She would trust them with who she was in a ways because like a mentioned earlier she would open flaunt her magic even when she wasn’t in the circus. Her attitude to the whole thing was if you don;t believe me that optimal but if you do that’s great as well. But she also keeps herself very separate. She doesn’t like have people close to her. She says as much to Marco and the exceptions to this really were the twins. They were the first people she told the truth and she loves them and more importantly she lets them love her.  Then as we move through the novel she lets more and more people be close to her. And then she really opens up, and she kept telling a lot of people about what was really going on. I kept thinking of Widget’s story about the tree and how every person who learns the secret costs the original person power. I can completely understand why she was sharing this with so many people, it’s a lot to carry on your own. But I thought it seemed risky even though I wasn’t sure why. On the other hand if she didn’t tell people it would be unfair because they are involved in this challenge even if Celia didn’t intend to include them.

I really want to go to this circus. I want to see everything. Erin Morgenstern does a amazing job with descriptions as I said before. The clock was the thing I had the hardest time picturing and also the thing I would like to witness most. It’s described with breathtaking clarity but my imagination cannot do it justice. It’s something so beautiful and elegant I cannot fathom it existing in this world. I love the Victorian Era gothic style because there was so much detail and care in the simplest things and for all our technology that could create astounding detail humans physically couldn’t, we have lost this attention to detail. Our modern style is clean cut, basic, flawless and a lot of it looks the same and personally I find there is so much more beauty in flaws and things that are unique. So I wanted to see this clock.

Let’s talk about the twins and Bailey. I loved their story line because we got to see the whole circus through their eyes. The Twins remind me of the Tweedles so obviously I loved them. They play off each other so well. Bailey I had to keep reminding myself that he was no longer a little kid. By the end he’s 17 or something. And as he talks with the twins and goes through the circus he really grows up and by the time he goes to track down the circus he’s really a young man opposed to a boy. I very much loved how the ending came together. I didn’t expect it at all but I loved it all the same.

That is all I can think of for this book. I just adored it. Bye guys!

10 Comments

  1. Pingback: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern | Bookstore by the Seashore

  2. Pingback: Book Rec: The Night Circus | A World Created

Leave a Reply

