30 Day Book Challenge: Day 10

picsart_1375358545585

A third of the way! Hello all it’s time for more of all the challenges! I picked this challenge up from The Chronicles of Radiya 

Today’s topic: What is you favourite classic?

I really need to plan things out better because as I talked about yesterday, my favourite classic is To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. So. Right. Second place then. I read a lot of the children’s classics when I was younger (The Secret Garden, A Little Princess, Heidi, Little Women, Black Beauty, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, etc.) and I loved all those but that was a long while ago. The only one I have read recently is Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll but that one’s not really my favourite. Ummmm… OH! I know one! I read The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald in June after seeing the movie and I really loved that one. And The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde I read not too long ago and I loved that one too. Didn’t like that movie though. Ben Barnes, I love you, but that movie didn’t do it for me. So I’m going to call this a three-way tie between The Great Gatsby and The Picture of Dorian Gray and A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett because that was my favourite when I was little.

Gatsby_1925_jacket

The Great Gatsby is about a young man named Nick who moves to Long Island and finds himself living next to the mysterious millionaire, Jay Gatsby. Famous for his massive parties.  During dinner at the home of his cousin, Daisy Buchanan, and her husband, Tom, who is also a college acquaintance of Nick’s, they introduce Nick to Jordan Baker. An attractive (though cynical) young woman. As the summer progresses Nick spends more time with Gatsby who asks him a strange favour. I loved this book. And I loved the movie so I recommend both!

9781435129757

The Picture of Dorian Gray was first published in 1890 in a magazine. The story was considered highly controversy so Oscar Wilde changed, added and omitted many passages of the original work before it was allowed to be publish as a novel. It’s about a very handsome young man named Dorian Gray. He becomes the subject for artist Basil and through him meets Lord Henry. Lord Henry suggests the only things worth pursuing in life are beauty and fulfillment of the senses. Realizing that one day his beauty will fade, Dorian says that he would sell his soul to ensure the portrait Basil has painted would age rather than he. Although he wasn’t really serious when he said so, he wish was granted. This is a decently dark piece of literature but it’s very interesting.

Little Princess

And finally we have A Little Princess that it way on the other end of the spectrum. Seven-year-old Sara Crewe is dropped off by her father at Miss Minchin’s Boarding school for young ladies in London. In India where Sara used to live she was used to being pampered, but that didn’t spoil her and she is gentle, polite and intelligent. Before leaving his daughter, Captain Crewe makes sure she has everything she could want. Sara’s friendly disposition and knack for storytelling makes her a favourite among the students and they soon begin referring to her as a princess (most with affection, a few out of scorn). Sara befriends Ermengarde, the school dunce, Lottie, a bratty four-year-old student,  and Becky, the scullery maid. A few years later Sara learns that her father has died, leaving her with nothing and Miss Minchin forces her to work as a servant  in the school. This is a really sweet novel. I haven’t read this book in years but I loved it when I was younger so maybe I’ll pick it up again when I get the chance.

That is it for day 10! What is your favourite classic? Bye all.

Leave a Reply

