30 Day Book Challenge: Day 9

picsart_1375358545585

Hello my Darlings! It is time for more of the 30 Day Book Challenge! Started by The Chronicles of Radiya  and I’m having so much fun with this.

Today’s question is: What is a  book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving?

mockingbird

I have to say To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I was so sure I was going to hate this novel so much and now it’s one of my favourites. I had to read it for school and that was the main reason I thought I was going to hate it. This is actually the only novel I have been forced to read for school that I have actually liked. (The Chrysalids and Lord of the Flies? *Stab, stab, stab!*) I also have an older brother who despised this novel so before I started it his opinion on the book was all I had to go off of.

But when I started the characters just captured me. My childhood was scarily similar to Scout’s. And the injustice of the whole novel and the message behind it was captivating. Not to mention I had a FABULOUS English teacher and he made it so much better, his class discussions were phenomenal just so funny and interesting and I honestly wish all my teachers could be like him.  I have a lot of really fond memories reading this book in school and actually talking about it with my friends at lunch and then my class went to go see the play that was also a lot of fun. Then I re-read this book the next summer because I had it and needed something to read on the car ride to a camp and there are even more great memories there that I associate with this book.

“Isn’t it odd how much fatter a book gets when you’ve read it several times?” Mo had said…”As if something were left between the pages every time you read it. Feelings, thoughts, sounds, smells…and then, when you look at the book again many years later, you find yourself there, too, a slightly younger self, slightly different, as if the book had preserved you like a pressed flower…both strange and familiar.” – Cornelia Funke, Inkheart

So when stupid, younger me said I was going to hate this book and didn’t want to read it, I just want to go back in time and smack myself across the face.

That is it for now! Bye guys! Kisses

Leave a Reply

