Book Rant: Fury

"Sometimes "Sorry" isn't enough"

“Sometimes “Sorry” isn’t enough”

BOOK RATING: 55% or 90%

Hello my lovelies! So Fury by Elizabeth Miles is the topic of this book talk! Now if the rating confuses you, it is because I am having a serious love-hate relationship with this book. When I was reading this book I couldn’t put it down. It was so engaging. I was annoyed when I had to go eat because I just wanted to keep reading.  And it got me out of the bit of the book hangover I was having after reading Angelfall by Susan Ee. I finished it and for about a day I was just thrilled with the book, I adored it and I couldn’t wait to read the sequel but then it hit me. The giant plot hole. You don’t always see these plot holes coming. Sometimes they just smack you in the face while you’re doing something else. Then after you notice, you cannot un-notice. And in this book it’s not like a little plot hole like a, “oops, I tripped! That was annoying.” It’s a plot hole like “oh shit, I found a black hole in the middle of earth!”

divide_by_zero

Yeah. It was that kind of book. But I really enjoyed reading it. I will give you a brief summary, the Furies are spirits of karma essentially. They decide when someone needs to pay the price for something they have done and then they carry out what they deem the correct punishment. It all starts with the attempted suicide of a girl no one liked at school. Emily (Em) is our main girl and she loves the holidays. And this year’s even better because the guy she’s been into for months is finally noticing her. But there is a catch. His girlfriend is Em’s best friend, Gabby. Gabby is away for the holidays so Em finds herself torn. On the other side of town, Chase is having problems of his own. The stress of his home life is starting to take its toll, and his social life is unraveling. More than that, Chase has a secret. Chase has done something terrible. Something he can’t run from but doesn’t want to face. The Furies have come to town and they will decide who will pay, and they have chosen Em and Chase. It’s a really interesting read, it’s really engaging. Spoilers beyond this point and it’s going to be a bit of a rant so, you have been warned!

.

.

.

.

You ready for this? The giant-ass plot hole that you can never un-see? If you have read the book and haven’t noticed it and don’t want the book ruined, leave. Because, like I said, you can not un-notice this. And it renders pretty much the entire book useless. Ok: There are three Furies. Three. For the entire world. An entire world filled with rapists, murderers, child abusers, criminals, war-lords, wife-beaters and all other types of people that deserve to be punished. And the Furies chose Em. For kissing her best friends boyfriend. Yeah. Yeah. You see this problem? They were going to kill Em for kissing her best friend’s boyfriend. I think there are better uses of their time! Chase makes more sense, he’s responsible for the death of a girl. So I can see that working out in a karma situation where he has to die to. But Em. She kissed her best friend’s boyfriend. I’m not saying it was the right thing to do, but all mighty Furies, I think there are more important thing that you could spend your time doing! Slave smugglers maybe? There is an entire industry about selling young girls as sex slaves. Maybe try tackling that instead of petty teenage drama?! Seriously, what the fuck are you doing?! I loved this book, but I can’t get over this. It’s so ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

