30 Day Book Challenge: Day 7

picsart_1375358545585

Hello! Welcome the the 30 Day Book Challenge created by The Chronicles of Radiya.

Today we discuss, “what is the most underrated book?”

Now this question was tricky, does it mean a book that not enough people know about, or a book that a lot of people know about but don’t like it as much as it’s  deserves?

FalconersKnot

For the first scenario I have The Falconer’s Knot by Mary Hoffman. I know no one who has read this book. It’s based in Medieval Italy where 16-year-old Silvano da Montacuto seems to have everything: wealth, good looks, a swift horse, a beautiful new falcon, a shinny dagger and sword at his hip, and a future. He’e even in love…with someone else’s wife. When his beloved’s husband is found bleeding in the street with Silvano’s dagger in his ribs, Silvano swears he didn’t commit the murder. For his own safety he leaves everything behind and flees to Franciscan House. There, with the help of the an old friend of his father’s, Silvano poses as a novice. But murder seems to have followed Silvano into the holy sanctuary. As more bodies turn up Silvano teams up with a pretty novice, Chiara,  from the nearby Abbey of the Poor Claires and Brother Anselmo to try and catch the mysterious killer. Typically I don’t like mystery novels. I have no idea why but I just can’t get into them, but this book is fantastic. Th detail is incredible and the characters are very believable and just so great. It’s written really well too, there are four story lines that just bend so seamlessly with one another.  It’s another one I’ve read over and over and even though I know the ending, it still manages to capture me completely. Highly recommend!

Now for the latter scenario, Twilight by Stephenie Meyer.  You know what? Shut up. Is this the best written book ever? No. A hundred years from now will it be considered a classic? No. Probably not. It’s not my favourite book, but it’s an enjoyable read. Before everyone decided that this was a cool book to hate, everyone liked it. YOU ARE ALL SHEEP! People hate on this book and I’m going to guess half of them haven’t ever picked it up. Yes, the movies were absolutely terrible. I haven’t seen the second part of Breaking Dawn so I’m just going off what I have seen. The movies did not do the books justice. And people often hate it because it’s a vampire love story, you know what else is considered a vampire love story? Fucking Dracula. So if you are one of those people who hate on Twilight but have never read it, I’m calling you out! You are a spineless, pathetic robot who cannot form your own opinions on anything and you just parrot it back whatever anyone else says. Unless you have read this book with an open mind and not thinking of it as only a movie, you don’t have the right to say it’s terrible.

That’s it for Day 7 (one week mark, Woot!) and I will see you all (hopefully) later for a Book Rant!

4 Comments

  1. I’m so glad you mentioned Twilight because it’s so true. I liked the series, a lot, it was not one of my favorites but I was definitely invested in Bella’s story. Then the movie came out and it seemed there was an angry mob with pitchforks ready to pounce on anyone who the audacity to say they liked the story. Well I like it too, and I’m glad you posted about it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 12 | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

  3. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 12 | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

Leave a Reply

