30 Day Book Challenge: Day 6

picsart_1375358545585

I’m back with more of the 30 day book challenge! The idea was created by The Chronicles of Radiya so go check her out!

Today’s topic: What is is a book that broke your heart?

wbsrxam-00023I get really into books so there have been a lot of them that make me sad because I really connect with the characters. And I wanted to do books that I haven’t talk about with you guys yet because otherwise I sound really repetitive  and boring.  But Hush: An Irish Princesses’ Tale by Donna Jo Napoli completely broke my heart so I have to say this one. The story is about an Irish Princess named Melkorka in about 900AC. She and her little sister are kidnapped and taken aboard a marauding slave ship. In this world far different from the life she has known, Melkorka does the only thing she can do to help give her some measure of power: taking a vow of silence.  This book gets a lot of hate and I think that it is because it is so sad and really just a dark read. But it is fantastically written and the story is beautiful and I think it really has a lot to say if  you bother listening.  I highly, highly, highly recommend.

betweenshades_custom-69c637c128cc70e042048984f2d48541e091b00a-s6-c30

And because I want to do a different one I’m also going to say Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. This is a historical fiction based in 1940 during Stalin’s rule. Lina is a fifteen-year-old Lithuanian girl who is taken along with her mother and brother by Soviet officers to a work camp in Siberia. Here they are forced, under Stalin’s orders, to dig for beets in order to stay alive in the most brutal conditions. Lina finds solace in her art, by taking the great risk of documenting the events she endures in drawings that she hopes will make it to her father’s prison camp. This is another really sad book but it a good one. I also recommend this.

That is all for Day 6! I plan on chatting with you lovely people again later today so bye for now!

Leave a Reply

