Book Rant: Strands of Bronze and Gold

strands-of-bronze-and-gold-by-jane-nickerson-677x1024

BOOK RATING: 2/10

Stands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson. I tried guys! I just can’t! It’s so boring! It just never stops! You think she can’t drag it out anymore but then she does! Ahahahaha….

I CAN’T! JUST MAKE IT STOP! I GIVE UP!

The first third-ish of this book was good. The main character, Sophia, is a bit materialistic and annoying and shallow but she has a good heart. I made it to page 241/339 so I got really close! Two thirds counts as close! This book is a re-telling  of the story of Bluebeard. That story is like two, maybe three pages long! You cannot make a novel out of it! You just can’t! There’s not enough there! The author is trying to make it suspenseful but it’s just boring! We can only walk around the grounds so many times! I thought it would pick up when her family arrived and that her sister would try and help her but she arrives and she’s all “Money, money, money! You have to marry him! Forget about that other guy!” I skimmed the last few chapters to get then end. The bodies of his wives were in the church (shocker) and with the ghosts “helping” her, sort of, she stabs him and then he gets caught in one of his traps he left out for poachers. She runs to the good witch’s house and then when that’s all over she goes to find Mr. Stone. And yeah. There you go. That’s 4 hours of my life I can never get back!

The cover is gorgeous though!

Leave a Reply

