Book Rant: The Last Olympian

Lastolympian

BOOK RATING: 9.5/10

Hello my lovelies! The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan is what we are talking about today. It is also the final book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. This series has been fantastic if you haven’t read it don’t even finish this paragraph. Just leave. Go discover this series in all in magnificent greatness (first book is The Lightning Thief) then come back when you’ve gotten caught up! I mean it! GO! Now for your wonderful people who have read this series up to but not including this book, we meet Percy again a whole year later at his 16th birthday. All year, the demi-gods at Camp Half-Blood have been preparing for the battle against Kronos and his army. The Olympians have almost completely abandoned Olympus trying to contain the titan Typhon. As Kronos advances on New York, Percy finally discovers the full prophecy surrounding his 16th birthday and the fate of Olympus.  Yeah, it gets intense! Fantastic conclusion to a great series. Now spoilers past this point, so let’s chat.

.

.

.

.

Okay! So I couldn’t put this book down! Seriously the battle starts, what? 25-odd pages in? 30 maybe? And then after that stuff keeps happening! To start off Percy is with Rachel Elizabeth Dare and they’re having a date-thing. They don’t call it a date, but its pretty much a date. Then Blackjack shows up with Beckendorf and they are going to try and destroy Kronos’ ship The Princess Andromeda. That doesn’t go well in the sense that Beckendorf dies, but they do destroy the ship. Percy wakes up and he’s in Poseidon’s palace with Tyson. I love Tyson. So much. He’s so cute and little kid like even though he’s also kind of grown up. Anyway, Percy goes and meets Poseidon in his office and he’s battle planning with this officers I guess. The fact that one of them is a dolphin made me really happy. And we find out that because Poseidon’s kingdom is under attack, he looks old and worn down. Which in my mind, turned him into   King Triton from The Little Mermaid. Once you start questioning these things it all falls to pieces. When Poseidon wouldn’t let Tyson fight because he didn’t want both his sons to be in danger I just wanted to hug him. He’s such a good dad.

Then we are back on land, super serious, intense moment when Percy gets to read the full prophecy out loud for the first time, everyone is silent in anticipation. ““A half blood of the eldest dogs…“Percy that’s gods.”” That made me giggle. And there is a spy for Kronos among them! And I didn’t suspect Selena until she left the battle to go get the Ares cabin. That’s when it clicked, oh she’s a spy and now she’s going to redeem herself! Then she dies a hero and they all decide that no one has to know that she was the spy. I’m still not sure how she got roped into this who ordinal, she seems genuinely sad about Beckendorf almost like she didn’t see it coming. can she really be that naive hat she thought that her passing along information would mean no one would get hurt? Or is she just a really good actress?

Along those lines. The Ares cabin is fighting with the Apollo cabin over this flying chariot so Clarisse won’t let her cabin fight in the war. What?!  Way to get your priorities straight there. How selfish can you be? Then the Apollo cabin just lives in and lets her have it like she’s 5 or something and then she takes it, but still refuses to fight on principle. That is so cowardly! And Selena tricks the Ares cabin somehow into thinking she’s Clarisse to get them to fight. How did she do that? They look and sound nothing alike! Then Clarisse comes in a makes up for it by killing that giant drakon. And Thalia shows up with the Huntresses and the Party Ponies arrive. The Party Ponies are probably the best comic relief ever written. They’re so funny.

Oh! And Nico and Percy going to meet Luke’s mom! Woah! I feel really bad for her. She needs some serious help. And then freaking Nico (that’s my dog’s name, totally irrelevant information for you :)) then lures Percy into this trap with Hades. And we get to meet Persephone and Demeter! Oh my. This entire scene and the banter.

“[Demeter] harrumphed. “I warned you, daughter. This scoundrel Hades is no good. You could’ve married the god of doctors or the god of lawyers, but noooo. You had to eat the pomegranate.”

“Mother-”

“And get stuck in the Underworld!” 

“Mother, please-”

“And here it is August, and do you come home like you’re supposed to? Do you ever think about your poor lonely mother?”

“DEMETER!” Hades shouted. “That is enough. You are a guest in my house.”

“Oh, a house is it?” she said. “You call this dump a house? Make my daughter live in this dark, damp-”

“I told you,” Hades said, grinding his teeth, “there’s a war in the world above. You and Persephone are better off here with me.”

“Excuse me,”  [Percy] broke in. “But if you’re going to kill me, could you just get on with it?””

I couldn’t stop laughing. Anyway, Nico eventually gets Percy out of this jail and he get to the river and Percy epicly face-plants! And then Nico is all “Can’t I come with you? Don’t you trust me?” Um, no! You just lead him into a trap! Of course he doesn’t trust you! But then he comes in and helps with the battle so that’s ok, I like him again.

We also meet Hestia the Goddess of the hearth. I really love her. I love her line about keeping the home fires burning, I love her personality and how she’s so sweet. I just love her.

Then at the end when Percy is offered immortality and he doesn’t take it but makes all the Gods promise to recognize their children. And Annabeth gets to be the new architect of Olympus which is pretty much her dream. So proud of her! Percy-beth. Aww! They’re sitting in the hall and then everyone bursts in and says that its about time! That underwater kiss, so cheesy and I don’t care! It was perfect! And Rachel Elizabeth Dare becomes the next oracle! I didn’t predict that one, and yeah that was really nice to get some closure with her character. And there is a new prophecy and I don’t know but I’m guessing that that is going to be the basis for the next series Heroes of Olympus the first was is The Lost Hero I believe and I do plan on reading those. Eventually. At some point. I have a long list of book on my “to read” list and a stack constantly on my desk but at some point in the future, I intend to read them. If you have already read them let me know if they’re worth starting, I’ve heard mixed things.

That’s it for now! Bye Guys!

Leave a Reply

