Book Rant: Code Name Verity

Capture

“But I have told the truth. Isn’t that ironic? They sent me because I am so good at telling lies. But I have told the truth.”

BOOK RATING 10/10

Hello my darlings! Code Name Verity by Elizabeth E. Wein is what we are discussing today. I really liked this book. It takes place during WW2 and those book I’ve always found really interesting (although sad) to read. The narrator of this story is a British spy who was caught by the Nazi’s and she’s writing out a confession/giving them information. The way she’s doing this is writing a story essentially about her life during the war and what part she played.

“He has said that I can have as much paper as I need. All I have to do is cough up everything I can remember about the British War Effort. And I’m going to. But the story of how I came to be here starts with my friend Maddie. She is the pilot who flew me into France — an Allied Invasion of Two.”

It’s a fascinating read. But it is a bit slow. You have to like historical fiction and yeah it is slow but amazing, amazing read. The characters are great and the plot is brilliant. Go read it if you haven’t, spoilers as always beyond this point. I loved this book and I don’t want to spoil you! Read then come back.

.

.

.

.

.

WHAT!?!?!?! HOW?!?!?! Julie (AKA: Queenie) How? How did you? WHAT!? I cannot fathom being able to do what she did. I know she had help for Anna but she made up everything by herself.

“Kiss me, Hardy.” At first that saying meant nothing but by the time Julie screamed it out when she knew Maddie there I was in tears. That is in fact one of the best, deepest quotes I’ve ever taken away from a book and it means absolutely nothing to someone who hasn’t read it. And that’s what makes it perfect. Throughout this entire book it’s not the words, but the relationships and the characters. We don’t really met Maddie until halfway through the book but through Julie’s word we know her and we know exactly what these girls mean to each other.

I can’t say much on this book because my words don’t do it justice. However I think this is one of the single greatest books I have ever read because I came out of it different then when I went in. Which is ever authors goal, I think. Superb job Ms. Wein.  Never has a finer WW2 book been written.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: August Discussion – Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein | Tomes and Teachers

Leave a Reply

