Home Again!

bragg-creek-flooding

Hello Again!

If you are Canadian you likely have heard, if not I’m not sure if you know, but Southern Alberta experience major flash flooding starting Thursday. I just got home after spending a few nights in a hotel in Calgary.  I’m sure I’ve said this before I live in a small town, actually just outside a small town. There is one road in an out of where I live and it has four bridges, three over a smaller creek and one over the Elbow River. Pausing my story for a minute to commend the civil engineers who built that bridge. That thing got hit by three houses and it’s still standing! Bravo gentlemen/women! So Thursday morning I went to school to write an exam (I don’t have a high school in my town I go to one about 35km (22 miles) away) By the time I finished writing at 10 it was apparent that I wasn’t getting home because the major bridge was closed. Thankfully my Papa got out before the bridge was closed and came to get me, but there was a half an hour that was quite scary because I didn’t know what was going on. My Mom and little brother were on a camping trip with my little brother’s class that was also terrifying because they were by Canmore which got hit worse than us but the flood but they got out fine and met up with my Papa and I at the hotel. My older brother is a volunteer firefighter so he was obviously very busy and we were extremely worried for him but he came by today for a bit and he’s fine too. So family is fine, my house is fine, my puppy is fine and I know a lot of people can’t say the same thing so I’m incredibly grateful!  

This morning after we were all settled, we went into town to help with some of the clean up now that the water is down. There’s going to be a lot of work to do but my town is full of tough, hardworking people so I know that we’re going to be fine. Probably half the town was out today at least for some of the day along with some people from Calgary who came to help. Thank you so much to those people, it’s really appreciated.

I also want to thank this lovely lady, I wish I knew her name because she was so, so kind to us. When my Mom and I went to buy clothing Thursday evening because we had absolutely nothing besides what we were wearing, the cashier overheard us talking with another customer about how we were evacuated. Then when she was ringing us up she gave us her 20% employee discount.  It was so much appreciated and she would have been fired if her boss found out, so thank you so much! I can’t even tell you how much that meant to us!

To anyone who lost anything to the flood my heart goes out to you. All the volunteers and rescuers and even just people like the cashier who helped us out, thank you so much. It really shows the goodness in humanity. ❤

Leave a Reply

