Book Rant: Pandemonium

images

Hey People!

BOOK RATING: 10/10

So I’m going to talk about Pandemonium, the second book in the Delirium trilogy by Lauren Oliver. This series takes place in a dystopian society where love is considered a disease and at 18 everyone is “cured” pretty much turning them in to emotionless zombies. All the cities are surrounded by electric fences and transportation between cities is extremely regulated. Outside of the cities is The Wilds where Invalids (illegal peoples that haven’t been cured) live.   If you haven’t read it I recommend it the first book is Delirium so go check it out. If you have already read both of those stay so that we may chat! As always this is going to have spoilers past this point so don’t read if you don’t want to be spoiled.

.

.

.

.

AHHHHH! This book! I honestly threw it on the ground at the end I was so frustrated! Let’s talk about the ending right now actually! Alex is alive! HOW CAN SHE DO THAT TO US!?!?!?!?! I just got over him being dead! Julian is so cute and I love him. I love Lena being with him, I love how we know so much about him (we knew next to nothing about Alex), I love how they helped each other escape, I love how he tells Lena the Wizard of Oz, I love how Lena saves him and I even love his incredibly cheesy line “Promise me we’ll stay together, okay?” but it’s not even cheesy coming from him because he would never have heard that before because love isn’t allowed and he’s just adorable. Then Alex comes in “Don’t believe her.” I want to slap him so hard! He has no right! No right to be mad at her! He’s been “dead” for what? Six months or something? What the hell was he doing? You know what, if you’re going to make your girlfriend think that you’re dead then ideally don’t come back, but if you do you better not get mad at her for moving on! Oh I’m sorry she’s 18 and her boyfriend died, what’s she going to do, never love again for the rest of her life? It’s not like you went on some resistant mission or something and she just decided that she didn’t want to wait, she saw you get shot multiple times and you told her to run! And he has that tattoo behind his ear, the triangle one that the bad guy who tried to kill Lena and Julian had so what is he doing with the tattoo! And he doesn’t even seem like Alex. Is he cured or something? Something is going on there. Or maybe he is just a grade A prick.

Next: EVERYTHING WAS A GIANT CON! WHAT?!?!?! What?! No! When Raven first showed up after Lena and Julian were trapped I was so relieved.  Wanted to hug Raven with Lena. And then it was a huge set up! Going back, I don’t know! How long? How long was this the plan? A week after Lena arrived? Two? If you’re going to make a plan that involves putting one of your allies at risk don’t you think you should TELL them? Not just manipulate them so they do what you want but have no idea what’s happening. And Raven’s all like “you were never in any danger” bullshit! She almost died a dozen times!

Julian: I mentioned how much I loved him earlier but I’m going to talk more about his family. Specifically:  “during my second seizure, I cracked my head against the fireplace. My parents were concerned.” CONCERNED. No, no, no, that is not concerned. Concerned is when I’m making chocolate chip cookies and halfway through I realize I don’t have chocolate ships. When I run out of my favourite eyeliner I’m concerned. When my iPod dies in the middle of a long car trip I’m concerned. If my child cracked his head open on the fireplace I would be terrified!  I’d have my phone in one hand calling the ambulance and a compress and some ice in the other trying to stop the bleeding and keep the swelling down all while checking to see if he had a concussion. That is not concerned! That adjective is not strong enough! So that was so I don’t even know. I don’t know what to say to that! What do you say to that?

I actually like Julian more than Alex as I mentioned above just because we get to know him more. I really like the evolution of Lena’s and Julian’s relationship it’s very nice, very cute. And we get to see Julian change. And we get to see that in Lena too as she realizes she’s in love with Julian and this whole struggle she goes through to come to terms with that because she still loves Alex but he’s dead.  She eventually comes to the realization that she can still love Alex and who he was and remember him with a lot of fondness but she can also love again and that that it ok. Then Alex shoots that to hell by being alive.

I really like how this book is written with “then” and “now”.  I think its way better this was then if she had gone “then” followed by “now” in chronological order. This way there was suspense nonstop! I’d read “then” and it would end on a cliff hanger but suddenly we’re back to “now” and that ends dramatically and we’re back to “then” so I was always on the edge of my seat. What I really like about Lauren Oliver’s writing is that it has a lot of detail like the coloured birds’ nests and Raven’s and Blue’s back story, it just makes the whole book more real and more emotional. I’m really glad Sarah didn’t die. It was so sad when Blue died and then when they were burying her and Raven ran forward screaming about how she would be cold! Lauren Oliver has proven once again what an amazing writer she is. I liked Delirium but I LOVE Pandemonium. Honestly I think it’s what the Matched trilogy was trying for but this series just blows that one away.

I cannot wait to read the next one! I’m freaking out! So bye for now guys, hopefully I’ll be back soon. Toodles!

Leave a Reply

