Book Rant: The Lightning Thief

lightningthief1Hey guys!

BOOK RATING: 9/10

Okay so I am way late getting to this party! Written by Rick Riordan this book came out in 2005 and I     just read it! Yeah!  If you haven’t read it I highly recommend it! It’s about Demi-gods (half god, half human) who are in this camp where they train to be heroes. And as the title suggests Zeus’ lightning bolt was stolen. I can’t say much more without spoiling anything. Long story short, it was really well written, the characters were fun and original. If you’re not reading it because of

A)     The movie, read it because the movie didn’t do it justice! The movie didn’t even really keep to the story line so it is completely, 100% worth reading!

B)      It’s a “children’s book.” Get off your high horse! Harry Potter is a children’s book to and you don’t hear anyone complaining about that!

So go read it if you haven’t! (You probably all have because I’m all of, oh… 8 years late!) Again shoo if you haven’t read it already because there will be spoilers!

.

.

.

.

I read this book because my little brother had a copy out and I had nothing new to read so I figured why not? I finished it pretty quickly, it’s only 375ish pages. Ok so it’s actually pretty long. From the first page I couldn’t put it down! I watched the movie when I came out so I thought I knew what was going to happen but wow was I wrong! The movie messed everything up really bad, I’m not even sure what they read to make that script. Maybe a summery on Yahoo answers or something? Possibly they read the back cover? Percy is 12!!! They made him a teenager! And Annabeth doesn’t have blond hair and actually the one thing they did better in the movie was Grover, because in the book I didn’t find that there was much to him. Anyway, the point I was trying to make was that it didn’t matter that I watched the movie because the book was almost a whole new story.

I really liked how they made the demi-gods “troubled” kids with ADHD and dyslexia I thought that was a super cool twist. It was also really nice that someone explained in this book why on earth the entrance to Olympus was in America! I had a hard time understanding that when I watched the movie! My only conclusion was that Olympus was in Greece and just there were various doors all over the word that were like portals to it. But the book made way more sense and I’m really glad he did put in an explanation instead of just leaving it. Another thing that way really great was the cabins. It was so interesting how each one of them was so unique and so clearly represented their god/goddess. I felt bad for Percy though when he had to leave and live by himself. I can’t believe it took them that long to figure out Percy was the son of Poseidon. Do people normally blow up toilets and soak everything except themselves? Is that a thing? Seriously you needed a sign from Poseidon to figure it out? Another thing that I actually hadn’t thought of until I was watching this video on YouTube shortly after I read this book (http://www.youtube.com/user/polandbananasBOOKS?feature=watch check her out she’s great! She’s really funny and we have the exact same taste in books so I love her) Anyway she mentioned that Percy should just carry around a bottle of water if water gives him these super awesome god powers and I’d never thought of that but she has a point. If it can’t be bottled water then get an empty water bottle and scoop some up from the river and I doubt he’d even have to drink it! He’d probably just have to put a few drops on his hand or something.

Ares! They left this whole thing out in the movie so it was really great to read! He’s not what I expected a god of war to be, honestly. I was expecting less punk more military officer and more honourable.  But his arrogance really worked well and the way he came off with this commanding authority was spot on.  Another thing I love about this book is that it tells tiny bits of Greek mythology and plays off them rather than trying to twist the myths into something they aren’t to fit the modern story. (Like most of these Greek mythology meets modern interpretation stories do)

I really want to kick Luke in the teeth really, really hard. I knew that he was going to be the one to betray Percy because of the movie, so I don’t know how it looked to someone who had read the book first but I thought he seemed pretty sketchy from the beginning.  Like scary nice.

So yeah! I loved everything about this book; I’m really excited to read the next one! The movie for that is coming out sometime this summer I believe so hopefully I can get the series read before then! And with any luck this movie will be better than the first.

Kisses. Bye y’all.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

